Once the time available for bidding has elapsed, you need to close the bidding. You can close a single category, or close all categories at the same time.
To close bidding for a single category:
Switch to the Bid Manager tab.
Switch to the Availability tab, if not already selected.
Switch to the Bidding Status sub-tab, if not already selected.
From the Open column, select the category you want to close bidding for.
Move it to the Closed column by clicking the >> button. The N-PBS Scheduler asks you to confirm that you want to lock the category.
Click the OK button.
The selected category is moved to the Closed column.
When Bidding is Closed
Once bidding is closed, a crewmember can still log in and submit Default bids. Any default bid submitted by a crewmember in the closed category is not used in runs for the current bid period. Those Default bids will be used after bidding is reopened and runs are completed for the next bid period.
Web N-PBS Bidder
If a crewmember logs into the Web N-PBS Bidder when bidding is closed, they will see a Bidding Closed message on the interface when they select the Current Tab. A bidder cannot edit their Current bid when bidding is closed. The buttons to submit and edit bids will either be disabled or will not appear on the screen. A bidder can copy their Current bid.
N-PBS Web App
A crewmember can edit both their Current and Default bid in the Web App when bidding is closed. However, only the Default bid can be submitted. If a bidder submits a bid when bidding is closed for their category, they will see the following message.
This message indicates that their Default bid was submitted and that their Current bid was not. A bidder can save any changes made to their Current bid to use in the next bid period. The Current bid must be submitted once you reopen bidding.